Draft Logo Project

During the process of making this logo I had come into a’lot of trouble making the custom shapes. The pen tool is a very hard tool to work but I eventually got it to get the basic shape of my original sketch. My ideas for this project was to have a clear image of what this journey has been all about. It shows strength but inside it shows something more.

GW4N, being my group me and my friends made back in the day and it shows strength and integrity. I researched some swole arms before making the sketch and I found a couple I liked so I combined the ideas I found and made it my own. I needed to have the name of the group inside of the arm for the purpose of showing what growth really looks like.

All the tools I used to create my logo was the curved pen tool, the pen tool, and the type tool. I wanted to make the letters in a different way but I was having alot of trouble doing that so I just used the type tool. I plan on working on what I actually want to do for the final project. Luckily this is just a draft so I have time to rework some things and make it even better!

4 thoughts on “Draft Logo Project

Add yours

  1. Hi Dylan,
    I am writing this under the pretense that I am given to understand that your blog is meant to document your personal journey. Overall, I like the design. I agree the pen tool is hard to use and not at all intuitive. I think that you were attempting to make the arm look more vascular with the shadows on the arm. But in my opinion, it makes letters harder to read, this next one isn’t so much a criticism but I think it might be cool if you kept the arm black but played around with the font color for the GW4N. Maybe made it look more like a tattoo? Just a thought. Anyways like I said earlier I really like your design, after reading a little about your hobbies your logo really does symbolize you. I also liked the more streamlined design of your logo. Keep up the good work!

    Like

  2. I think your logo draft is super impressive! I like how there is something personal behind the sketch, and you easily incorporated it into the visual. While it is clearly an outline, it is clear what the logo is representing from attention to detail. If I could suggest one thing, I think it would be cool if you played around with the gradient tool or something likewise to add some sort of dimension to the logo. Another suggestion I have is to possibly not have the lines of the arm intersect as much with the text. It could come across as cluttered this way. This could be an area where you could mess around with colors or gradient again, just so it doesn’t look like black lines intersecting. I still think it looks captivating either way, and it is clearly unique. I can tell there was a lot of thought and work put into this draft, so I think your final will turn out amazing!

    Like

  3. Overall I really enjoy my logo, I think it personally looks great and it took alot of work with that pen tool. I know what I need to change up and to do better on for the final. I really want to fix the text so it fits in better with the arm and I want to make the fingers on the fist more symmetrical so it doesn’t look all weird. Maybe fix of the shadowing in the background some more as well. Overall the comments were pretty positive with few minor critiques here and there and the final will look great!

    Like

  4. Wow! Your logo was the first one that I have looked at, but I can already tell it is one of the most creative ones I will see. I really like the idea and how it relates to your topic. At first glance, my suggestion to you would be to differentiate the text from the outlining of the arm. It might be hard to read for some people if it was scaled differently like on a t-shirt or something. So maybe you could change the color of the text, the size, or even the font. Maybe it’s the font and how the pointy parts are similar to the lines in the outline of the arm. But seriously, really good job. This logo looks like it took some time to do using some difficult tools that I would have given up on. I think you have a strong draft to off for your final draft.

    Like

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started